ECECS Engineering

PUPR’s ECECS Department Recognizes Young Stars to Watch 2013


On February 13, parents, family members and supporters joined 37 of the most prominent students on campus to recognize their efforts. The Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering and Computer Science celebrated a gathering to honor students with a GPA of 3.65 or above and at least 72 credits accumulated toward the completion of their program.

One of the highlights of the evening was Engineer Alejandro Pérez, a PUPR alumnus and current PhD student at Massachusetts Institute of Technology who was invited by Dean of Engineering, Carlos González, for a surprise intervention. Through a conference call, Alejandro talked about his experience and conveyed the message to students that they are as capable as any to accomplish their goals.

Dr. Othoniel Rodríguez, Chair of the ECECS Department, pointed out the department’s accomplishments in its over twenty years of existence. Dr. Rodríguez also informed students and guests about the graduate programs at PUPR which are of interest to computer and electrical engineers and computer scientists in general.

The Young Stars to Watch 2013 were:

    Alvarez Padilla, Marcos COE
    Atiles Gil de Lamadrid, Ileana M. COE
    Cardona Echevarría, Luis F COE
    Casillas Rivas, Armando COE
    Cepeda Díaz, Miguel A. COE
    Delgado Camacho, Faustino COE
    González Berríos, Hernán COE
    Jové De La Torre, Alejandro M. COE
    López Roig, Reynaldo COE
    Lugo Belardo, Lyan M. COE
    Martínez González, Jorge E. COE
    Miralles Sánchez, Damián COE
    Molina Hodai, Michael A. COE
    Muñoz Martínez, Pedro M. COE
    Orlando Rivera, Giovanni COE
    Pabón Cruz, Jorge L. COE
    Rivera Castro, Emanuel COE
    Rodríguez Chinea, Nergielys COE
    Santana Díaz, Christian COE
    Torres Pillot, Gerónimo COE
    Vaillant Correa, Luis A. COE
    Rodríguez Veve, Eladio CS
    Collado Cherena, Adner D. EE
    Collazo Rivera, Luis R. EE
    Cruz Molina, Carola EE
    Cruz Ostolaza, Yarel A. EE
    Gregorio, Gabriel EE
    Nazario Nazario, Jose R. EE
    Parrilla Navarro, Carla M. EE
    Ramírez Alameda, Angel Y. EE
    Ramírez Soto, Roberto EE
    Reyes Alicea, Héctor L. EE
    Reyes Ortíz, Luis S. EE
    Rolón Luna, Luis M. EE
    Rosado Rodríguez, Orlando EE
    Samalot Gómez, Carlos R. EE
    Sandoval Casas, Jennifer A. EE

Copyright 2011 - Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico PO Box 192017 San Juan, PR 00919-2017 377 Ponce de Leon Ave. Hato Rey, PR 00918 (787) 622-8000