Faculty News

Professor Diana Rivera Rivera was appointed as the new Associate Dean of the School of Architecture at Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico (PUPR). Diana has been teaching for seventeen years at the School of Architecture. She has taught at various levels of design courses and representation components of the curriculum; mostly focusing in the coordination, design and development of the beginning design studios. Diana has a B.A. in Environmental Design from the University of Puerto Rico and a M.Arch, Syracuse University.

Professor Jorge Rigau Pérez, FAIA, received the Distinguished Architecture Professor Award from the Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico in May 2012.

Architect and Professor Miguel Del Río, AIA, has been appointed AIA Regional Director for the areas of Florida and the Caribbean. The appointment took place on July 2012, during the AIA Convention in Palm Beach.

Professor Nadya K. Nenadich gave the lecture "La erosión de la gestión común de lo común" for the Arquitectonics International Workshop: "Architecture, Education and Society" at the Barcelona School of Architecture (ETSAB) on May, 2012.

Professor María Gabriela Flores gave the lecture "Consideraciones de Diseño para Vivienda en Puerto Rico" as part of the design competition: "Nueva Vivienda para Puerto Rico 2012" at the Puerto Rico's Architects Association (CAAPPR) on May 10, 2012.

Professor Vladimir García has joined the ARQPOLI faculty. García studied at Southern California Institute of Architecture, SCI-Arc. Together with Doel Fresse, García was awarded the First Prize from the Institute of Puerto Rican Culture: Galería Espacio Temporal (GET) Design Competition 2011 for the Revuelo installation which was selected as one of the projects to represent Puerto Rico in the Third Biennial of Design in Madrid on November 2012. Prof. García gave a lecture about the art-instalation Revuelo at the School of Architecture, Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico and at the Puerto Rico's Architects Association (CAAPPR) on March, 2012. He was also invited by the University Radio to talk about the Revuelo project in the radio talk show "Piedra, Papel y Tijera" .Professor Omayra Rivera, coordinator of the Collaborative Design Studio, is offering a course at Beta Local in Old San Juan in collaboration with the project ENLACE for Caño Martín Peña. Moreover, Prof. Rivera presented the paper "Participatory Analysis of the Living Environment: The Plus Ultra Neighborhood", together with professors Leandro Madrazo and Angel Martín Cojo from the School of Architecture La Salle in Barcelona at the Association of Collegiate Scholl of Architecture (ACSA) Conference on June, 2012, that took place at the Center of Contemporary Culture of Barcelona.

Professors Yazmín Crespo and Omayra Rivera gave a lecture with Andrea Bauzá about their work as part of the architecture collective "Taller Creando Sin Encargos" at the Puerto Rico's Architects Association (CAAPPR) on August 16, 2012. They were also invited by the University Radio to talk in the program "Arquitectura de Hoy"

Professor Yazmín Crespo gave a summer course about history and theory of architecture at the School of Design Elisava in Barcelona on June, 2012.

Dean Carlos E. Betancourt-LLambías received a Certificate of Merit from the AIA Puerto Rico in the category of Built
Works for the design of the Performing Arts Center of Humacao and the Ecotourism Center.



© 2011 ARQpoli. All Right Reserved.